In front of a crowded gallery at his Guest Projects space in Hackney, Shape Open patron Yinka Shonibare MBE announced that artist Kate Murdoch was this year's winner, for her sculpture entitled, 'Bad Head Day'.  Shape Chief Executive Tony Heaton OBE congratulated Kate on being the fourth winner of the Open and thanked Yinka Shonibare as well as Helen Sainsbury, Head of Programme Realisation, Tate Modern, for their work as panel judges, who, given the range of high quality exhibits, had been faced with making a very difficult decision.  Kate will receive a £1000 cash prize, and we look forward to seeing much more of her in the future.

Shape Open 2016 panel judges discuss the entries

visitors at the Shape Open 2016 exhibition

A guest admires Kates artwork.

Shape Open 2016 winner kate Murdoch with Yinka Shonibare MBE

Crowded gallery, Shape Open 2016

Shape Open winner 2016 Kate Murdoch standing beside her sculpture

Kate Murdoch on her sculpture: 'As a partially deaf person, I spend a lot of time trying to make sense of the world around me. Hearing aids amplify, but don’t necessarily clarify sounds or the human voice. What’s going on? What’s being said? The frustration involved in struggling to hear and join in conversations can sometimes just all feel too much. ‘Bad Head Day’ is representative of the confusion and muddle I can sometimes find myself in: something akin to a head exploding. 

Taken from the Shape Open catalogue. Available at the gallery, £5.

The exhibition runs until 21 Feb 2016, Thursday - Sunday 12pm - 5pm. For more information, visit our event page or contact [email protected]

List of exhibiting artists:

Tony Allen, Ally Bain, Regina Lafay Bellamy, Sally Booth, Andrew Brenton, E Crowe, Alice Dass, Angela Edmonds, Joshua Fox, Rachel Gadsden, Liliana Gallagher, Sara Ellen Glanfield, Jack Haslam, Piotr Jastak, Carl Jaycock and Zareen Rustom, JunkSoupArt, Fae Kilburn, Violetta Liszka, Peter Mansell, Aaron McPeake, Brigitte Mierau, Graham Miller, Kate Murdoch, Stephen Muszynski, Clare Newton, Susanne Dagmar Olsen, Justin Piccirilli, J Price, Paula de Santis Smith, Maxwell Rushton, Patricia Uter, Joanne Weaver, Anne White  , Dave Wood, Jason Wilsher-Mills, Fiona Wright, Emiko Yamaguchi and Sonja Zelic.

Images from banner to bottom:

Kate Murdoch being announced as the 2016 Shape Open winner

Panel judges conferring

Crowded gallery

'Bad Head Day' being viewed on a plinth

Kate Murdock posing with Yinka Shonibare MBE

Crowded gallery

Kate posing before her winning sculpture

All photos by Andy Barker