Shape, in partnership with the Victoria & Albert Museum and with support from the Helen Hamlyn Centre for Design, are launching the 2014 Adam Reynolds Memorial Bursary for disabled artists and designers.

Submission deadline: 11th August 2014, 12 noon

Venue: The Victoria & Albert Museum, London

Bursary Dates: January - March 2015

The Adam Reynolds Memorial Bursary, set up in memory of sculptor Adam Reynolds, supports disabled artists by offering the opportunity to engage in a three month residency at a high profile gallery or cultural institution. This year Shape are collaborating with the Victoria & Albert Museum and The Helen Hamlyn Centre for Design to bring an exciting new twist to this unique and notable art award.


This year the Adam Reynolds Memorial Bursary is available to disabled mid-career artists who have an interest or focus in inclusive design. Applicants may approach this residency as a problem-solving opportunity which seeks to identify, design and develop a creative solution to an issue that affects disabled people. Proposals which directly address the accessibility and inclusivity of an existing product or environment are welcomed.

The winning artist, as selected by a panel of industry specialists and representatives from the V&A and Shape, will be awarded £5,000 and a three-month residency in January 2015.

World-renowned sculptor Antony Gormley is patron of the Adam Reynolds Memorial Bursary.

"Adam was inspirational as an artist and a man - seeing his disability as a strength. This bursary is the most practical and powerful way to continue doing what Adam did to make the possible palpable."

Antony Gormley

Previous bursary recipient Aaron McPeake commented;

'To win the ARMB is a dream come true as it gives one the space and time to make whatever reflections, refinements or creations that one likes. It also places the winner in an incredible environment, among talented people who are up for dialogue and supporting artists at work.'

Aaron McPeake

Previous residencies have taken place in Camden Arts Centre in London, the BALTIC in Gateshead, Spike Island in Bristol and Bluecoat Gallery in Liverpool.

Previous Winners

2013 / 14 Winner - Aaron McPeake

2012 Winner - Simon Raven

2011 Winner - Caroline Cardus

2010 Winner - Aaron Williamson

2009 Winner - Sally Booth

2008 Winner - Noëmi Lakmaier

Image: V&A Studio Image (Credit Victoria & Albert Museum)